top of page
Search

What a difference a week makes

So, it's been a week since I missed my deadline for uploading Dead at Eighteen to Amazon. Do you want to know what happened? I'll tell you, because I can't keep a secret. First a little back story - I set October 30 as my release date for Dead at Eighteen back in June. I worked tirelessly on it in order to get it ready. I knew that I had until Midnight October 26 to upload the manuscript and cover to Amazon so they could release on the 30th. What I failed to consider were the three little letters following 11:59 pm. They were GMT.


For some reason, I just never took the time to consider what they were or their significance. I knew that Amazon was based in California, but my brain just skipped over the letters every time I got a warning from Amazon not to miss the deadline. I simply didn't pay attention.


I finished the last edit around nine PM Central standard time, here in Kansas, and tried to upload. It wouldn't go. I finally figured out that GMT stood for Greenwich Mean Time and it was then several hours after Midnight in London and I was plain out of luck.


After gnashing my teeth and some frustrated emails, I accepted that all my presales were gone and the connectedness that Amazon built into the sequels of DA16 and DA17 were gone as well. I would have to build the audience back up for Dead at Eighteen. In the last week, I've been able to salvage a part of the momentum I had going into this latest release and even created an e-book box set of the three books for a discounted price. Lesson learned.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Get the Paperback!

My new paperback is now available to order! If you like, you can get the paperback of The Wrap Party Murder for $9.99, or you can pre-order the e-book for $2.99. I'm very excited for people to discove

bottom of page